Here We Go Again

On the live feed video series presently, Jeff Schroeder of BB 11/13 chats with Mike "Boogie" Malin, BB 2/7/14 houseguest and BB7 victor.

On the live feed video series presently, Jeff Schroeder of BB 11/13 chats with Mike “Boogie” Malin, BB 2/7/14 houseguest and BB7 victor.

We’re now 17 days removed from the launch of sixteenth US season of Big Brother. Never thought back in the 2000’s the show would get this far into the second decade of the 21st century, but yet here we are. Those of you who thought there would be a change in production for this season, I told you not to expect it back on September 22nd of last year, and sure enough, Frau Grodner and company are still in place, putting the ingredients together for yet another season of BB, trying to keep the show as fresh as it can be, which cannot be easy with this many editions.

As for me, I usually wait until the cast is revealed before I invest in a season, although this year I’ve already taken that plunge. To me, casting is everything. I tend to like seasons where the cast is all new (or all veterans, for that matter) as opposed to the mixed bags we got in seasons eleven, thirteen, and fourteen. I enjoy watching the maturation of the new houseguests, figuring out how they think and how they adapt, as opposed to watching veterans imposing their will and skill (or lack thereof) on the lowly newbies. I’m hoping that’s we get this year, but after the racial bigotry debacles of BB15, I’m thinking we get a vet/newb mix, if I had to guess.

Who is in the cast? Will there be newbies? Veterans? A mix thereof? We won’t likely know until June 19th, and I’ll likely cover it in two weeks on June 22nd.

But there was some recent good news: this year’s feeds are going to be in high-definition, which means when the houseguests are lounging in the backyard, you’ll see every sinew of their six-pack abs.

Back at you next week, hopefully with some more news…

Leave a Reply

